Skip navigation

Innovation in the Baltic Sea Region

The Baltic Sea region (BSR) is one of the most developed and well-formed regions of international cooperation, comprising the EU member states Sweden, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Latvia, Lithuania and Poland as well as the EU neighbouring countries (Russia, Norway). With a population of roughly 80 Mio. inhabitants it represents approx. 16% of EU population. The BSReconomies have performed strongly since 2000.  As a group, they have averaged a GDP growth rate of 2.7% relative to 1.6% for the EU28 as a whole. 

BSR is regarded as one of the most competitive and innovative macroregionas in the world.  According to Bloomberg Innovation Index for 2018 four Baltic Sea region countries can be found among the 10 most innovative economies in the world.  Sweden is ranked second followed by Germany at the fourth place. Finland and Denmark are found on the seventh and eighth place of the Index.  The rest of the Baltic Sea region countries (Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland as well as Russia and Norway) can all be found among the 50 most innovative countries

The Baltic Sea Region countries have since histories been promoting collaboration between businesses, non-profits, public authorities, and municipalities of the countries, be they internally located on the Baltic Sea coast or at its adjacent territories. The European Union Strategy for the Baltic Sea Region (EUSBSR) is the first Macro-regional Strategy in Europe. The EUSBSR Strategy is divided into three objectives, which represent the three key challenges of the Strategy: saving the sea, connecting the region and increasing prosperity. Each objective relates to a wide range of policies and has an impact on the other objectives.

IRIS - project is funded by the Interregional Programme for the Baltic Sea Region.  In the IRIS project 14 innovation support agencies from all countries of the Baltic rim, including Norwegian and Russian partners pool their knowledge.

  • Business Development Centre Central Denmark
  • Dalarna Science Park
  • DESY Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron
  • Fund Victoria
  • Gdansk Entrepreneurial Foundation
  • Kaunas Science and Technology Parks
  • Latvian Technological Center
  • Rzeszow Regional Development Agency
  • Startup Division Vilnius
  • Tehnopol Tallinn
  • Turku Science Park
  • Ventspils High Technology Park

Additional Partner: BNTU Polytechnic